Meyer Lemon Recipe Series: Moroccan Chicken with Green Olives and Meyer Lemons

This past weekend, I wanted to try something out of my cooking style –Aka. cook with unknown ingredients and pray that it works.  I still had a bunch of Meyer Lemons and I didn’t just want to bake sweet goodies all the time.  As I searched the web for something interesting with Meyer Lemons, I came across Moroccan Chicken with Green Olives and Lemons recipe on epicurious.com.  It had great reviews, looked easy and had a good use of lemons (in this case Meyer Lemons).  The one thing that threw me off was not the lemons, but the green olives.  I love olives, I eat a lot of them in all shapes and forms, I’ve even eaten them raw.  Yup, ever tried a raw olive fresh off the branch?  (I’m making my squishy face right now with the thought of the bitter/sour/tart taste). I’ve only eaten them individually and not as an ingredient in a dish  (unless it’s fried rice but that’s for another post).

I have to admit, I did find this dish to be on the…. tart side.  It didn’t have the subtle sweetness I was expecting from the onions.  Therefore, I did modify the recipe a little bit to my own taste but of course you can always find the original recipe at epicurious.com.

Moroccan Chicken with Green Olives and Meyer Lemons

2 Meyer lemons or regular lemons

1 tablespoon olive oil

1 large onion, halved, thinly sliced

2 garlic cloves, pressed

1 tablespoon paprika

2 teaspoons ground cumin

1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1 teaspoon ground ginger

2 cups no salt or low salt chicken broth

5 – 6 chicken legs/ drumsticks

1/2 cup green olives

3 tablespoons of honey or to taste ( if you have a honey date at home, just use that instead)

 **********

1)  Cut 1 lemon into 8 wedges. Squeeze enough juice from second lemon to measure 2 tablespoons; set wedges and juice aside.

2)  Heat oil in large skillet over medium-high heat. Add onion and sprinkle with salt and pepper; sauté until golden brown, about 8 minutes. Add garlic, paprika, cumin, cinnamon, and ginger ; stir 1 minute. Add broth; bring to boil.

3)  Sprinkle chicken with salt and pepper; add to skillet. Add lemon wedges (and honey date if you have it). Cover, reduce heat to medium-low, and simmer until chicken is cooked through, turning occasionally, 25 to 30 minutes.

4)  Transfer chicken to platter. Add olives,  2 tablespoons lemon juice, and honey (but if you already added the honey date then no worries unless it’s not sweet enough for you) to skillet. Increase heat to high; boil uncovered to thicken slightly, about 5 minutes. Season with salt and pepper. Pour over chicken.

Adapted from Moroccan Chicken with Green Olives and Lemons at epicurious.com 

*************

Notes: – This recipe is meant to use a whole chicken in 8 pieces, but we love dark meat so we went with chicken legs instead. 

–  For the green olives, I bought marinated green olives from the supermarket and actually rinsed them in cold water to have it less salty for this dish.  

Leave a Reply

