Cranberry, Walnut, Lemon Scones for Calgary’s Food Blogger Bake Sale

Cranberry, Walnut, Lemon Scones

This past weekend a whole bunch of food bloggers from and around the city of Calgary participated in a charity bake sale,  myself included.  It was a fun experience and bake sale raised $1900.00 for the Brown Bagging It For Calgary’s Kids Society,  a wonderful charity that provides healthy lunches for children that unfortunately don’t have no lunches or barely one at all.  I know as an adult at lunch hour I get super hungry and over the last couple of years Ben and I worked so much we skipped lunch and not only does it make you feel starved not having something to eat, but I do believe it can have a negative affect on your health. Therefore, I can’t imagine how a child feels when they don’t have a sufficient lunch.

At the bake sale,  were tonnes of delicious and beautiful baked treats!  Unfortunately, I didn’t get any pictures but a fellow food blogger, Barb from Just a Smidgen took some photos from the bake sale (doesn’t she have such an inspiring blog?).  I went back to the bake sale later in the day just to see a table with a barely any items left- wow!  Calgary definitely has a lot of carb loving, generous foodies.  🙂

One of the items I baked were scones.  I picked scones because they were easy HAHA.  I admit it!  It was an easy recipe and I figured my chances of screwing up were low!  The Black and White Cookies on the other hand were a bit of a pain with the waiting and the frosting-  I had to do a trial run Thursday night to make sure I got it right for Friday.

A big Thank You to everyone who came by to pick up something from the bake sale and to Vincci from cecinestpasunfoodblog.com for setting everything up.  I had fun baking and meeting everyone there!

Below is the scone recipe for you to try in you’re own kitchen.  Now, these are not super soft fluffy scones; they are more on the crumbly side but just as good.  🙂 Oh and it’s very important to do the glaze – very very important. 😉

Cranberry Walnut Lemon Scones

For Glaze:

4 tablespoons granulated sugar

2 tablespoons fresh lemon juice, divided

For Scones

3 cups all purpose flour

1 cup granulated sugar

1 tablespoon baking powder

1 tablespoon finely grated lemon peel (* you’re gonna need a whole lemon for this- I did)

1 teaspoon salt

3/4 cup  chilled unsalted butter, diced

1 cup dried sweetened cranberries

1/2 cup coarsely chopped walnuts

1/2 cup (or more) chilled half and half cream

1 tablespoon fresh lemon juice

*****

Preheat to 375°F.

  1. Line baking sheet with parchment paper.

******

1)Make Glaze:

Whisk 4  tablespoons sugar and 2 tablespoon lemon juice in bowl for glaze.  Put aside.

2)   Whisk flour, baking powder, lemon peel, salt, and 1 cup sugar in large bowl. Add chilled butter; using fingertips, rub in until coarse meal forms. Mix in cranberries and walnuts. Add 1/2 cup half and half and 1 tablespoon lemon juice. Toss with fork until dough comes together in moist clumps, adding more half and half if dough is dry.

3)  Gather dough into ball; divide in half. Press out each half on floured surface to an approx.  6-inch-diameter  and 1-inch-high round. Cut each round into 6 wedges. Transfer to baking sheet; brush with glaze.

5)  Bake scones until golden and tester comes out clean, about 20 minutes.

Serve warm or at room temperature.

***********

Note:  I did make the scones again and used regular 2% milk instead of half & half and it still turned out really good.  Maybe a little more crumbly but just as delicious.   Also,  if you’re a person who likes to spread some jelly or jam on your scones; half the sugar required in the scones so it’s not too sweet. 

Recipe adapted from epicurious.com

6 thoughts on “Cranberry, Walnut, Lemon Scones for Calgary’s Food Blogger Bake Sale

  1. Anna, finally!! I’ve been waiting patiently for this lovely recipe ever since trying one of your scones at the Bake Sale! They were sooo good and my husband mentioned that he loved them as well (unbeknownst to each other, we both bought your scones:) I loved the nice big crunch of walnuts, I think I’ve always chopped mine too fine.. Yay!! I’m making these now!!
    ps… thanks for the shout out.. you are more than welcome to click and download the photos for your blog too.. I have no problem sharing.. it was such a great cause!!

  2. Pingback: Calgary Food Blogger Bake Sale (HOLIDAY EDITION) | Anna's Appetite

Leave a comment