How are you doing Thanksgiving Dinner?

This time of the year I kinda miss my family back home.  I find that I miss my family on big holidays and birthdays.  Thanksgiving is one of those holidays where family and friends get together over a wonderful, hearty, poultry feast.  I miss those days.  Since we’ve moved we’ve been fortunate enough to friends that have us over with their family for Thanksgiving, but it’s a lot of work and believe me even our friends who invite us to eat their dinner do need a break the next year.  I would offer to make Thanksgiving dinner at my place, but being that I live in a condo-  space and space availability is quite limited.

Nevertheless! Ben and I are used to eating just for the two of us.  Though I wonder, I’m sure we’re not the only couple who come across this problem.  For those who’s family are far and away, how would you prepare a Thanksgiving dinner?

I’ve been looking around the city to see if there’s places out there that would provide Thanksgiving Dinner for take-out or offer it in their restaurants and so far I found a few in the city that do.

1) Sunterra Market is having a “take-out” Thanksgiving dinner-  $21.99 per person + gst includes:

  • Autumn Vegetable and Bean Soup
  • Roasted Golden Beets and Goat Cheese with baby greens and peppery balsamic vinaigrette and
  • Sage and Thyme-rubbed Belwood Turkey Breast with buttermilk Yukon Gold mashed potatoes, traditional stuffing, made-from-scratch cranberry sauce, gravy and a medley of fall vegetables   OR   Bourbon and Mustard-glazed Sunterra Farms Ham with buttermilk Yukon Gold mashed potatoes, a medley of fall vegetables and sweet cherry compote.
  • Deep Dish Pumpkin Pie with ginger whipped cream.

2) Fresh Kitchen in Marda Loop is another market that provides take- home Thanksgiving Dinner for $24.99 per person + gst which includes:

  • Roasted butternut squash soup with spiced creme fraiche
  • Organic greens with hand torn brown butter croutons, sun dried cranberry, pumpkin seeds and Fairwinds Farm goat cheese
  • Farm fresh turkey dinner OR Valbella maple glazed Gammon ham dinner
  • Herb buttermilk mashed potatoes
  • Roasted organic rainbow carrots, traditional pan gravy and fresh made cranberry sauce
  • Brioche, sage and bacon stuffing
  • Deep dish fresh baked pumpkin pie with spiced cream

3)  Heritage Park is having a Thanksgiving meal between 11:30 am – 3:30 pm (super early bird) for $21.95 + gst per person.

  • Livingston’s Garden Green Salad:  Organic field greens with tomatoes, cucumbers and red peppers with choice of dressing
  • Sage Roasted Turkey:  Sliced over cranberry pecan stuffing served with pan gravy, butter milk mashed potatoes and market vegetables
  • Pumpkin Pie with Chantilly Cream

4)  I guess I could make something from my collection of Epicurious.com recipes for Thanksgiving and give it whirl.

  • Store bought pumpkin pie and vanilla ice cream!

On a side note,  I LOVE EPICURIOUS.COM .  One of the best places for recipes of all time.  Their recipe collections spans the horizons from figuring out recipes with dietary needs to the most obscure ingredient-  you’ll find it all there!  Also, their iPhone app is fantastic!  It’s so organized and they sync to your recipe box on the website to your iPhone.

As much as I would love to cook a Thanksgiving Dinner in my kitchen I honestly think it might just cost the same if not cheaper to order take-out for two people.  Wouldn’t you agree?

I guess I’ll find out in the next day or two to see what we’ll do! I hope you’re planning is going much better than ours!

Cheers to prepping holiday dinners!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

