Schwartz’s Montreal Hebrew Delicatessen: Montreal, Quebec

The last couple of years I go on a yearly trip to Montreal to visit a client of mine. To be honest, I partially go because I’m excited to try some of the amazing food that Montreal has to offer. This year we had a long day of work and we were hungry. It was late and cold (this was back in November) and when you’re cold, tired and hungry all you want is something convenient. Then my wonderful client suddenly said, “Hey you wanna go to Schwartz’s? It’s not too far from here“.

“WHAT?! THEE SCHWARTZ’S?” was the first thing that came to mind…

The second thing was, “THIS WAS HERE THE WHOLE TIME?!?!”.

It was seriously  a 5 minute walk from where we were and it was the most anticipated 5 minute walk in my life.

It was dark, cold, raining, maybe snowing and there was a line. You can see through the windows that this place was packed. Thankfully it was just the two of us so my client was able to secure us two seats at the counter right away (she’s aggressive when she’s hungry too- my kind of gal). :)

The view from the counter

The view of the menu from the counter

The picture menu at the counter.

The picture menu at the counter.

The crowd.....

The crowd…..

We sat by the counter and both ordered water to start, of course I immediately ordered the most popular item, the Smoke Meat Sandwich otherwise known as Viande Fumee.  

Smoked Meat Sandwich

Smoked Meat Sandwich (Viande Fumee) (fatty meat)   $6.40

Immediately, my client and I decided to each get a sandwich and as we order, the gentlemen taking my order asked what type I want.  Do I want lean, medium or fatty?  For a moment I was little caught off guard but my client tells me it’s the cut of meat they’re asking me for. She also proceeded to tell me that ordering the fatty cut of meat is highly respectable at this establishment.  So, do I want to lean meat, medium meat or fatty meat?   And lord knows I will never turndown a fatty-  I love cook animal fat of all varieties, duck, pork, beef, lamb… yeah my heart will hate me but I’ll deal with that later, for now I’ll let my stomach be happy.  Immediately after my client and I ordered our Smoked Meat Sandwiches, they were right in front of us (fast I tell you).  Sandwiched between two pieces of rye bread and a good spread of mustard,  the smoked meat (pastrami)  was super tender. It was warm and savoury and it’s cut from the grain so pieces of it do fall apart but the fatty part of it was sooo good, it melted in my mouth.  I swear I think I was having an intimate moment with this sandwich from all the ooing and mmmmm sounds coming from mouth.

Don’t laugh, but I did get a pickle to accompany this sandwich.

The Pickles

Dill Pickle $1.85 (The guy at the counter gave me an extra I think)

Hehe, I pretty sure the guy at the counter gave me the extra pickle.  Probably because I ordered the fatty, or because my client is a looker, or he was in a good mood, regardless I’m sure he hit us up with an extra pickle.  The pickles were pretty good.  I had pickles at Katz’s Pastrami’s in NYC and these were way better than theirs.  They were crunchy, salty, a bit tangy and they were “pickled” while the ones I had at Katz’s were more like fresh from the garden salted cucumbers versus a pickle.  These were a nice touch with the accompanying sandwich.

Inside Schwart'z in Montreal

Overall,  Schwart’z is a damn good place to eat.  Established since 1928 this place hasn’t changed a bit.  You literally feel like you and whole bunch of hungry people travelled through a time machine just to go back in time to eat a their sandwich.  You can also see that this place is doing something right, who needs all the fancy schmanciness as long as you can get a delicious meal at a great price.  You definitely can’t wrong with the price here and guaranteed this place will have a line out the door anytime of day or night.  Two people would have an easier time getting in than a group.  I also believe they do take-out and even have a separate counter for that, great for those  who don’t want to wait too long in line for a table.  Keep in mind too that they take CASH ONLY so don’t leave home without your change but know that it’s totally worth running to the ATM for.  :)

Hours of Operation (because you know you’re gonna wanna come here at midnight at some point)

Sunday 8:00 AM – 12:30 AM

Monday 8:00 AM – 12:30 AM

Tuesday 8:00 AM – 12:30 AM

Wednesday 8:00 AM – 12:30 AM

Thursday 8:00 AM – 12:30 AM

Friday 8:00 AM – 1:30 AM

Saturday 8:00 AM – 2:30 AM

Schwartz's Montreal Hebrew Delicatessen on Urbanspoon

4 thoughts on “Schwartz’s Montreal Hebrew Delicatessen: Montreal, Quebec

  1. Pingback: Alberta King of Subs: Calgary, Alberta | Anna's Appetite

Leave a Reply

