Bliss & Co. Cupcakes and Desserts- Chinook Location

I don’t know if it’s all the health shows or just growing up without a lot of cakes and cookies,  but I can’t take super sweet foods.  Don’t get me wrong, I LOVE desserts!  I have a bad habit of eating sweets right after dinner everyday.  I could eat a heavy dinner and not take another bite, but give me about 5 minutes and I’ll want an big piece of cake and finish it no problem.   There’s been a cupcake phenomenon the last few years.  You see cupcakes served at weddings, birthdays, any party really now has a lot of cupcakes and Martha Stewart even has a recipe book all based on cupcakes.  But the problem I have with some of the cupcakes sold in Calgary is that they’re super sweet.  I sometimes feel like I would have a sugar seizure just taking the first bite.  Until a couple years ago I heard about a place in Chinatown known as Bliss Cupcakes.  Given my work schedule I could never make it in time to feast on these really popular cupcakes.  I would tell myself each time I was in Chinatown to make sure I pop by or at least walk by to take a glance and see if they were open.  Unforunately, even till this day I couldn’t make it in time to Bliss Cupcakes in Chinatown but one day as I wondered in Chinook Mall I noticed a beautiful red sign right behind the main level Starbucks.  It was Bliss Cupcakes!  They opened another location!  A location where they were open late and free parking!!!!!  Yipee!  Someone heard my prayers!  Super stoked I purchased my first half dozen cupcakes, and true to review they were … well.. blissful.  Not overly sweet and a nice smooth frosting without the large sugar grains in them.   I probably ate a good 2 dozen of those during my discovery in Chinook Mall the first month!  I had to cut back a little because I noticed them showing up around my waist.  But recently I had a craving for cake and I didn’t want to buy a whole cake since I really didn’t have the space in my fridge so I drove to Chinook to buy some cupcakes.

1/2 dozen beautiful cupcakes!

Aren’t they pretty?  Just sitting there in their custom  plastic packaging and NUT FREE?!?!  Alright so from left to right starting from the top you have: After Eight,  Marble Twist, Red Velvet, Vanilla Classic, Island Dream, and 14 Karrot Gold.  Hehe, crazy how I remember them so well….. my favorite is the Marble Twist cupcake.  It has chocolate and coconut cake mix in them and are just divine.  There’s something about a cupcake that is just so deliciously adorable, don’t you think?  I mean, I tried making cupcakes like these and honestly they don’t turn out as pretty as these ones.

A closer look at some beautiful cupcakes....

Even writing this post is making me crave cupcakes.  But, in all seriousness if you like cake but nothing super sweet Bliss&Co Cupcakes will hit the spot.  They’re located in Chinook Mall on the main level behind the Starbucks Coffee underneath the escalators.  1/2 go for $16.00 and a full dozen goes for $30.00.

They also do cakes, pies and mini cupcakes too!  Check them out because I’m sure you won’t regret it.

Chinook Centre #0162, 6455 Macleod Trail S.W.  www.blisscupcakes.com 

Bliss & Co Cupcakes and Desserts on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

